top of page
Writer's pictureSarah Westberry

Happy 4th of July



I'm a little bit late to the party but dang it was a great long holiday weekend. I hope everyone had an amazing 4th of July with friends and family! Honestly, this was probably one of the best 4th of July Ben and I have ever had. Our plans changed a little bit, but we made the most out of it. We were a suppose to go down to Port St. Joe Florida to my parent’s new home. They have been building this for the past 3 years and it was a supposed to close a couple weeks before the 4th. One thing happened after another for them and they ended up closing the Monday before 4th of July. Ben and I made the decision to visit my parents another weekend as we didn’t want them to free rush trying to move in. They have been waiting on this for a long time and we wanted to make sure they enjoyed being in their house before 6 of us came hauling down. Ben and I started brain storming what else we could do. If you do not know my husband 4th of July is his favorite holiday so I wanted to make it special for him. We decided we were still going to have our friends over that were a suppose to go to the beach with us, but we didn’t want to just sit in the house. I started looking around on the internet and got the bright idea to get a water slide. With it being so close to the 4th everything was already booked but finally we found this one company that had a giant water slip n slide! And just like that we were planning a party for around 12 people and having the neighborhood kids over as our pool wasn’t opening because of COVID19. I love throwing parties and get togethers. My husband would say I am extremely extra and go all out. I started planning decorations and of course the food I wanted to have, and it was a success, and everyone had the best time. Party planning can stressful but in the end it’s so worth it. It’s another little passion of mine and I plan on writing about it more and showing you guys how much I truly love it. Cannot wait to share more in the future!



When throwing a party, you want something to keep everyone busy. It is a lot easier on the host, so they don’t feel like people are just standing around or you are really having to entertain them. With this water slip and slide there was definitely not any standing around. The only standing around was waiting in line to be next. I think the adults enjoyed it more than the kids. Something like this is perfect for all ages and a HOT summer day.







When it comes to decorations, I usually find almost all mine online. My best friend is Amazon. Usually the decorations on there will come in a party variety pack. You are getting a lot of different items for a fairly good price compared to a party shop. When looking for decorations you want to read the review so you can see the quality of the products. My favorite trend right now is a balloon arch. You can get a kit offline and it is so easy to make and it really adds a nice touch to any party. That is usually my main focal point. Here are a couple of small decorations I had for this party. I couldn’t go crazy because the husband put me on a budget, but it was simple and perfect for the 4th.




FOOD!! My favorite part. When it comes to an all-day party you want food items that can sit out for awhile so people can munch on them throughout the day definitely if there is drinking. I love dips and variety planners. The recipes I usually always do are 7-layer dip and a cheese board. I found these two ideas from Pinterest and I loved how they turned out. I wanted something sweet also but I am not a baker. I actually picked up a chocolate from Costco because 1st they they have the best cakes but 2nd if I tried to make it, it would of been a disaster. I love chocolate covered strawberries and I have seen these on Pinterest a couple times and wanted to give them a try and they turned out so cute! Pinterest will be your best friend when trying to find recipes for party themes. Search Food items for that theme party and 1000s will pop up.






Cocktails: it's not always best to supply the alcohol at parties as it can be very expensive or you aren't sure if anyone will even drink the cocktail you chose. For this party I definitely wanted to come with a fun drink that everyone would enjoy. With our friends it's kind of a thing to have jello shots at any party. Then these came to life. They took 3 nights to make but definitely worth it in the end.






You can go big or you can go small but it’s all about the details. Make sure you focus on the details you know people are going to remember. Have fun and don’t let it stress you out. Sometimes it can be overwhelming but don’t like it kick your butt!

37 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page