top of page
Writer's pictureSarah Westberry

Memorial Weekend Charleston Trip

Updated: Jun 22, 2020



This Memorial Day weekend was a weekend to remember. Got to spend it with my husband and sisters without a care in the world besides Covid19 of course. This post is going to be a little different then my usual posts and a little longer. In this blog I am going to give my restaurant recommendations around Charleston SC. These are the ones we got to experience on this trip. Of course, there are many amazing ones out there and cannot wait to go back and try out some more. Let me start off by saying Charleston is my favorite spot ever! As I mentioned in my prior post this is the town, I had my bachelorette trip. It is full of life, beauty, and GREAT food.


Breakfast Spots

Playa Bowls. This is located right on the corner of King Street. If you are wanting something super light and healthy for breakfast so you can pig out for the rest of the day this is your spot. I have just gotten into the smoothie bowl hype. I am usually a smoothie girl, but I am loving all the toppings you can get on these bowls. This restaurant has so many great options that anyone can find something they like. This is not a local restaurant as they have over 83 stores nationwide so you can try it out in many towns. The decor of this place is so cute, and the smell makes you feel like you are somewhere tropical (weird I know). This is a plant-based company who uses ECO bowls, spoons, lids, and straws. The menu breaks down the different types of bowls. This was something I really liked because it was easy to figure out what I wanted or what I was in the mood for.

Recommendation: Hemp Green Bowl-This is a blend of kale topped with granola, banana, blueberry, hemp seeds, and agave.



Big Bad Breakfast. This is located on Meetings Street around the corner off King Street. We actual drove past this going to our hotel (Homewood suites Hilton highly recommend staying there as it is right there by everything!!) Everyday there was a line outside. Before leaving out of town we had to try it out. It definitely was worth the wait. Perfect stop for a low-key brunch. Their menu had everything. From your traditional breakfast items to oyster scramble. The best part they had the best bar for mimosas, Bloody Marys, and coffee blends. They have 7 locations so if you cannot make it to Charleston try it out at one of those.

Recommendations:

  • The Screamin Demon: This sandwich is a pickled brined crispy fried chicken sandwich with duke's mayo and their famous "comeback sauce". This is definitely a hangover cure.

  • Avocado Toast: This is from his lean plates and one of the owner’s favorite dishes. This is a step up from just your everyday avocado toast

  • Low country Skillet: I didn't get to try this one but omg did it look and sound good. I love shrimp for breakfast, and I bet it is delicious with the skillet eggs.

(Sorry the food was so good, and we were so hungry I didn't take any pics)


Vintage Coffee Cafe. This is in Mt Pleasant so just a small drive outside of downtown Charleston. Mount Pleasant is such a cute town to go to. They have so many different restaurants and spots to just walk around. I wish we would have had one more day to spend there. On our way to the beach we drove by this cute little coffee cafe and we had to spot. They turned this old house into the sweetest restaurant and coffee shop. They have vintage coffee cafe in the front. We could not go inside because of Covid but they had this large outdoor area with sitting, a kid's playground, and then a pizza restaurant in the back. Honestly, the cutest restaurant concept I have ever seen. Coffee was amazing and the breakfast was so good! The serve a variety of different drinks from coffee, teas, and Mimosas. And then their food menu has breakfast items and lunch items. Will be going there again.

Recommendations



Drinks

  • Iced Carmel Latte: this is a double shot of espresso with 8 oz of milk. I asked for it with oat milk. So good and not to sweet

  • Their specialty Mimosas: these change every day, so it is nice changing it up and not having the same thing all the time. When we were there, they had a passion fruit mimosa






Food

  • Avocado Toast: so, this is so different they your usual avocado toast, but I loved it. They use sour dough bread (which in my preference is the best bread out there). They then smeared the top with this tomato onion marmalade. This reminded me a lot of pepper jelly. I never thought about putting that on Avocado toast before but going to start doing it. Fresh sliced avocado and sea salt. Give this 100!!

  • Grown up Grilled Cheese: my sister got this, and she is a huge cheese fan and she loved it. It is made with sour dough (of course) and a mixture of muenster cheese, queso fresco, bacon, and roasted tomatoes


Lunch Spots



Saltwater Cowboys. This is location on Shem Creek in Mount Pleasant. It’s a cool relaxing place. The low-key night for my bachelorette party we came here, and it was so good we had to come back. It is located right on the water and has a huge area for outdoor dining. It is perfect for a beautiful day to enjoy lunch or dinner outside. Come dressed up or just hope off your boat and enjoy an amazing menu and a few cocktails. It was just opened in 2017 so it's fairly new. It was a passion for local seafood (if you are outside on the dock you can see the shrimp boats right next door). Everything I have eaten here has been amazing. You can't go wrong. Enjoy the views and enjoy the food.


Recommendations

Drinks

  • The Creekwhacker: this taste like a mudslide. It has cold brew coffee it is, so it gives you a little pep in your step for day drinking. My husband had 3 and let's just say he was wired

  • The playboy Mule: I love a good Moscow mule and they did a particularly good job in adding that extra flavor with deep eddy's peach vodka. Very Refreshing.

Food

  • Crab Dip: get this as an appetizer. It has a nice little spice but not too spicy at all. I actually really liked they served this with Ritz crackers as it gave a nice buttery flavor with the spicy crab dip

  • Trash can nachos: these are served in a small tin trash can. Super cute to post for the gram. You can add any meat you want on these or just have them with vegetables. Serves a lot of people.

  • Ahi Tuna Poke: super fresh and super good. The soy and brown sugar marinade I want to learn how to make!

  • Shem French fries: I don't know what it was about them but omg they were so good. Highly recommend getting as your side option. Crispy with a lot of herb flavor.

  • Cowboy Tacos: with these i like you get to choose what kind of meat you want on top. I went with the shrimp but I bet the Mahi would be delicious on this. The cabbage also gives a nice extra crunch to every bit.

  • Shem Creek Shrimp salad Roll: my sisters got this and I will have to say I am upset I did not get this. It Looked amazing! Will be trying this next time.



There is so many good lunch spots around Charleston. I wish we got to go to more but we always had a late breakfast so we were never hunger for lunch.


Dinner Spots


Stars Rooftop bar & Grill. This is located right now King Street. King street is where you will find most of your bars and clubs. Stars is definitely a restaurant you have to eat at if you are wanting an amazing restaurant on King Street. The restaurant gives you a feel of the 30s with the large leather booths, large wood bar right when you walk in, and clean white floors. A true visit of the historic location where it lays. The owner didn't want to take away of the architectural of the original building so the decor has a lot use of reclaim and restored wood. The foodie that I am one of my favorite parts of this restaurant is that almost every seat you get a clear view of the exhibition kitchen and the live wood burning cooking that is done. Another cool feature of this restaurant is the rooftop bar that you can ride the elevator up to. Get there early as it fills up quickly and always has a line to get into. You get a beautiful view of the whole downtown of Charleston. Cool to see at night but also during the day. The bars vibes are totally different then the restaurant just below. Light and airy I like to call it with planters filled with herbs and reclaimed wood bar along with their wicker seating.

Recommendations

Drinks

  • Lavender Lemonade: light and refreshing

  • Espresso Martini: great way to give you that extra boost to get you through the night after day drinking

Appetizers

  • Bacon Cheddar tots: these are handmade and served with the best remoulade dressing. Honestly my favorite food of the weekend

  • Classic Shrimp Cocktail: comes with 5 and the size of the shrimp are massive

Main Course

  • Spring Risotto: OMG literally the best meal ever in my opinion. It's fresh but it also is heavy enough to get you full. When some expensive restaurants you aren't full after eating. Highly suggest getting with the scallops!

  • Steak Frites: my husband got, and he loved it. It's a spin off of a meat and potatoes dish. Peppercorn sauce is to die for, and they cook the steak just right.





Mesu Tequila + Sake Bar. This is located on King Street just a couple of restaurants down from Stars. This is the 1st Mexican and Asian restaurant on king street. I think this restaurant was made for me. My two favorite types of food! The inside of this restaurant is pop art all over. The chandeliers are made of ribbon and beyond unique. Our server told us that they get all their seafood straight from Hawaii. It is a small restaurant so if you have a large party make sure you make a reservation. They own a bourbon and bubbly bar right next door so while you wait on your table go next door and grab a drink.

Recommendations

Drinks

  • Michelada: This drink will bring you right to Mexico. It's a cocktail mixed with Modelo Especial, fresh lime, chalula, and house made clamato

  • Pitcher: you get to choose what you would like in it when it comes to type of tequlia and juice. Definitely for a table drink

Food

  • Habanero Glazed Edamame: this is a great starter for the table. Perfect combo of sweet and salty.

  • Honolulu Fishbowl: I love a good poke bowl. Their seaweed salad in this is phenomenal. I loved the variety of different types of fish in this bowl and it did taste super fresh. It's a deconstructed sushi roll. My husband and I shared this and a roll and we had leftovers


  • King Cali Roll: my sister Rachel got this one and said it was so good. I love any roll that has avocado or cream cheese in it

  • Lobster Rangoon Roll: not the healthy roll but dang is it good!! It's tempura fried but the cooling of the cream cheese and the heat of the sriracha aioli gives this roll all the flavor it needs

El Jefe Texican Cantina. This is located on King Street. They were voted in 2019 Charleston's Best Margarita. It has the largest LED wall for watch parties and there is even a mechanical bull. We obviously couldn't experience this because it wasn't open. They take a lot of pride into marinating their ribeye for 7 days for their tacos which I have to say are excellent. They are opened at 11am for lunch, dinner, and late night. True authentic fresh Texican. They have weekly happenings every night you need to check out.


Recommendations

Food

  • Burracho Papas: oh my god these are good! My husband's two favorite things. Fries and cheese dip. The fries were nice and crispy and their chili con queso was so good. I liked the nice crisp of the pico de gallo on the top.

  • Taco Platter: this is a good meal if you are wanting to share with someone. You get a choose of what kind of you wan tacos along with rice and beans. Or you have the option for street corn. I would recommend the beans though they were very good!



If you visit Charleston and try and out some of my restaurant recommendations or items, I got make sure you tag @homegoodeats on instragram. I would love to see and hear what you guys think.

58 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page