top of page
Writer's pictureSarah Westberry

Banana Blondies

Updated: May 26, 2020


Since we have all been quarantined I don’t know why but I feel like everyone has been making banana bread. I decided to hope on the bandwagon and give it a try. I didn’t really want banana bread so I tried something a little sweeter. I am not a baker so I went to Pinterest to help me out. I found these on “The View From Great Island” blog. They aren’t the healthiest but they are sure yummy!


Ingredients

Blondies

1/2 cup of butter

1 cup of packed brown sugar

1 large egg

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup of mashed banana (2 bananas)

Caramel icing

1/2 stick of unsalted butter melted

1/2 cup of packed brown sugar

2 tbsp cream or milk

1 cup powered Confectioners sugar



Step by Step

1. You will need to preheat your oven to 350 and take out a 9x9 square glass pan and spray with baking spray. (Trick: I line my pan with parchment paper also so I can easily remove from pan.)

2. Take a blender and cream your butter and sugar together for about 2 minutes. You want it fluffy and smooth. Beat your egg and vanilla in next for another minute.

3. Add in your banana mash, salt, and then your flour on medium speed (Trick: you want to add in a little bit in at a time.) You want everything blended nicely together but don’t over mix.

4. Take your glass pan and pour your mixture into it. Take a spatula and spread evenly in the pan.

5. Stick into the oven and bake for 28 minutes. (Trick: stick a toothpick in the middle of the cake and make sure no liquid sticks. It’s ok if cake come up from on it.) You still want to moist.

6. Once cooked take cake out and set aside to cool. I let mine stick out for an hour.

7. To make your caramel frosting put your melted butter, brown sugar, and milk or cream and whisk everything together on medium speed for 1 minute. Once all of that is combined add in your powdered sugar. Mix again.

8. Once your cake is cooled spread it all over the top of your cake.

9. Cut up some thin pieces of banana and place on top of blonde and frosting.

10. Plate up, and Enjoy!

179 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page