top of page
Writer's pictureSarah Westberry

Chicken Thigh Lo Mein



Chinese takeout is always a go to for when you are just not in the mood to cook but I’m telling you it’s going to taste much better if you whip it up yourself. A couple nights ago I ran into town later in the evening as work was pretty busy during the day. On my way out I already had in my head I was going to get Chinese takeout for dinner. Then, I thought to myself no I can make this. So I grabbed a couple things for the grocery store, finished my errands, and headed back home. You can add all types of different veggies to this dish I used up what we had left in the fridge. Make this dish your own and Enjoy!



Ingredients

I made this for 2 plenty of left overs but for more then 4 double recipe

  • I pound of chicken thighs (I find in these types of dishes chicken thighs give off a different flavor and fat) THIS IS OPTIONAL IF YOU ARE VEGETARIAN JUST LEAVE THIS OUT

  • a box of Chinese lo mein noodles

  • 1/4 cup of pure canola oil

  • 3/4 cup of carrots

  • 3/4 cup of red cabbage

  • 3/4 of baby Bella mushroom

  • 1 green pepper

  • green onions

  • 1 tbsp of minced garlic

  • 1/4 cup of lite soy sauce

  • 1/2 cup of hoisin sauce

  • 2 tbsp of sesame seed oil

Step by step

  1. Get out a pot and fill it will water. Bring to a medium heat and get water boiling. Add your Lo mein noodles into pot and cook as long as your box states.

  2. In a sauté pan (Trick: I used a cast iron skillet) turn to a medium heat. Add in a tbsp of your sesame oil and canola oil.

  3. Take out your chicken thighs and cut into long thin strips and add into the sauté pan. (Trick: if you are waiting this as a vegetarian dish just skip this step and go straight into adding your veggies to pan.)

  4. While that is cooking go ahead and chop up all your veggies into long strips as well.

  5. Once your chicken is half way cooked add in your minced garlic. Cook for about a minute and add the remaining vegetables into skillet. Mix to get them coated with the oil and chicken grease. Then add in your soy sauce. Covered with lid to let the steam help it all cook together. This will take about 5 minutes.

  6. Remove lid and pour your hoisin sauce all over the top and stir let simmer for another minute.

  7. While that is finishing off cut up your green onion for a garnish.

  8. Add your noodles alittle at a time to your pan. Combine your noodles, veggies, and sauce all together until everything is nice and evenly coated. Keep adding until you have a nice helping of noodles.

  9. Take out a deep bowl, plate your Lo Mein in and top with green onions, Enjoy!

115 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page