top of page
Writer's pictureSarah Westberry

Hobo Shrimp Foil


After you try this meal you are going to want to cook it on a weekly basis. It’s super easy, healthy, and made under 30 minutes. The reason why I called it a hobo meal is busy it’s wrapped in tinfoil and can be made over a campfire. I decided to cook it over our green egg for an extra smokey favor. Definitely an excellent choice And highly recommend cooking it on there if you have one. If you don’t have a green egg you can easily cook in the oven. I like meals that you can cook many different ways. This dish you can also serve over a variety of side items. I did cauliflower risotto I got from Kroger. Some other side items could be angel hair pasta, white rice, or mash-potatoes. Hope you enjoy!



Ingredients

  • 2lb bag of raw extra jumbo deveined shrimp

  • 1 lemon

  • garlic

  • A bundle of asparagus

  • A bundle of cilantro

  • cooking wine vinegar

  • a bag of Alexia cauliflower risotto (optional)

  • garlic salt

  • salt/pepper

  • tinfoil

  • green egg grill





Lighting your Green Egg

Place your lump coal in the bottom of the green egg. Then use your heat gun or starter brick and heat till you get a glowing red. Let burn for a little bit to get the other lumps hot. Close your lid and adjust your vents to get temperature up to 350









Step by Step

1. To start you are going to want to get your green egg grill ready (see above).

2. You will want to get your shrimp thawed and deveined if yours didn’t come that way. (Trick: I usually don’t like frozen shrimp. We usually get fresh shrimp from St. Simons from my mother in law but with covid 19 we haven’t been able to see her. I found these frozen ones from Aldi and they were so good and reasonably prices. I believe I got for $16.99. I will buy these again.) 3. I made this meal for three people so I ripped 3 foot foot long pieces of tinfoil and laid on the counter. 4. Take your asparagus and cut off ends (Trick: to know how much to cut off hold the asparagus on both ends and bend. Where it snaps that’s where you need to cut all your asparagus.) Then place them on your tinfoil in the middle.

5. Then, line up your shrimp next to your asparagus. I gave us each 10 pieces. Sprinkle everything with garlic salt and minced garlic, about 1 tbs, of each. 6. Next, you will want to put 1 tbs of your white wine vinegar all over your asparagus and shrimp. 7. Wrap up your foils very tightly so nothing can escape. Place on your egg for 9 minutes. (Trick: if you don’t have an egg cook in oven at 400 for 9 to 10 minutes.)

8. Waiting on your shrimp to cook, cut your cilantro very finely and slice two pieces of butter for each foil pack.

9. This is when I started on my cauliflower risotto and I just followed the cooking instructions on the package. Takes 8 minutes to cook.

10. Your shrimp should be done. Take off the grill and carefully open the packets and sprinkle your butter and cilantro over the top of the shrimp. Squeeze lemon juice over all the ingredients in the foil packet. I used half a lemon for each one. Close tightly again and let side for 5 minutes to let all the juices come together.

11. Plate up your risotto and pour your foil over the top, add salt and pepper, and Enjoy!


87 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 bình luận


shannon
21 thg 4, 2020

I made the hobo shrimp foil today for lunch!!!! We used a standard charcoal grill, it was amazing!!! Easy and almost no clean up!!! It will be one of our new keto meals!!

Thích
bottom of page