top of page
Writer's pictureSarah Westberry

Keto Beef Broccoli

Updated: Jun 9, 2020



This one is for all my keto friends! I know a lot of people don’t stand behind keto but I do. I got engaged 2 years ago and I knew I had to make a lifestyle change and lose some weight. Since my senior year in high school I struggled with my weight as I was diagnosed with lupus. I was put on a very high dose of steroid which caused a lot of the weight gain. My weight has fluctuated back and forth. Once my husband got on one knee I know it was time to make a lifestyle change. I wanted to lose the weight for myself. I have done many diets before but they just didn’t work with my body so I figured I would give keto a try. If you don’t know what keto is it’s a low carb diet with very high fat foods. You train your body to burn fat for energy not carbs. During this time I found many meals that were so delicious and wanted to share them with you. This one only has 6g of carbs 23 g of protein.



Ingredients (feeds 4)

  • 1 pound of flank steak (got from Costco you can get a lot for a very good price at Costco)

  • 1/2 pound of broccoli

  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil

  • 1 tsp on sesame oil

  • 1 tsp of fish oil

  • 1/4 cup of green onion

  • 1tbsp of garlic salt

  • 1 tsp of red pepper flakes (optional)

Beef marinade

  • 1/4 cup of coconut aminos

  • 1 tsp of finely chopped fresh ginger

  • 1 tbsp of minced garlic


Step by step

  1. Cut the Flank steak into very thin slices against the grain. (Trick: don’t cut against it as it will be tough to eat. What this means in cut the way the fat and veins go).

  2. Add the sliced beef to a gallon size bag with the coconut aminos, ginger, and garlic. Let marinate for 1 hour in the fridge.

  3. Blanch the broccoli for two minutes in boiling water, then drain it really well.

  4. After your steak is nice and marinade. Get your skillet, wok pan, or large deep pan to medium high heat. Place your coconut oil in pan. Pour in steak with marinade. Cook for about 4-5 mins. You want it almost cooked all the way.Remove steak from pan.

  5. Add in your mushrooms, green onions, and garlic salt. Cook for about 2 minutes.

  6. Then, add in your broccoli. Cook until crisp-tender, for about 3 minutes, then add the remaining marinade and cook for two more minutes.

  7. Return your beef to the pan with the broccoli and mushrooms.

  8. Finally add in your fish sauce, sesame oil, and red pepper flakes.

  9. Let cook for another minute.

  10. Get out a deep bowl, spoon in a good helping of your stir fry and sprinkle fresh green onions, red pepper flakes, and sesame seeds over the top and Enjoy!


A good side option for this dish: Ginger salad

  • romaine lettuce

  • sliced English cucumbers

  • crispy salad wontons

  • tonton ginger dressing (found at Costco)

413 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page