top of page
Writer's pictureSarah Westberry

Quarantine Toast


I am not huge when it comes to breakfast. I usually whip up a smoothie or something every easy when I wake up in the morning. I am more of a lunch person so when making my meal I like it to be very tasty but also healthy. With that said you can't go wrong with a good avocado toast. It may be known as the "basic white girl" meal but I love avocado toast because you can add so many different ingredients to change it up every time. Just like everyone else my husband and I have been quarantined in our homes for about three weeks and I have been craving a good avocado toast so I decided to make it myself for only $3. Probably one of the best avocado toast I have ever had and it came out of my kitchen. Follow these steps and let me know what you think or what you added to make yours different. Enjoy xx Sarah.

Ingredients

  • Sourdough Bread (I get a lot of my baked goods from Publix as I believe they have one of the best sourdough breads)

  • Butter (I used vegan butter from Publix but regular butter is fine. I found vegan butter to be more creamy)

  • Hard Salami (I am a huge fan of Publix deli and you don't always have to wait in line at the deli counter. They already have some amazing meat choices in the open face fridges)

  • Rip Avocado

  • Broccoli sprout

  • cherry tomatoes

  • Lemon

  • Everything but the bagel Seasoning (now a days you can get these seasoning anywhere not just trader joes)

  • Salt/Pepper


Step by Step

1. Get all of your ingredients out on the counter so you aren't looking for all the items in the middle of cooking your meal.

2. You will need to get your toaster out and drop two pieces (depending on how hungry you are) of your sourdough bread into the toaster. Toast these for about 2.5 minutes.

3. While that is cooking you are going to want to slice your avocado in half and remove the pit. Remove all of the avocado out of the skin and put into a bowl with salt and pepper. Mash together until smooth. I like to keep a couple of chucks as I like the texture.

4. By now your toast should be done as you want it to have a nice golden brown color. You will then want to spread about a teaspoon of butter over your toast.

5. While your toast is still hot you want to place a slice or two of salami on your bread. This will heat the salami a little bit.

6. Then you want to spread your avocado mix over the top of the salami.

7. You will then want to add your broccoli sprouts over the top. This adds a crunch to the top of the toast, and adds a nice touch.

8. Once you have your broccoli sprouts on top cut up your cherry tomatoes very thin and layer it all over the toast.

9. Last but not least, sprinkle your Everything but the Bagel seasoning, salt and pepper, and squeeze a fresh lemon slice over the entire toast to really bring out that avocado flavor.

10. Plate up, and Enjoy!


225 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentário


bmwestberry
10 de abr. de 2020

Looks so good

Curtir
bottom of page