top of page
Writer's pictureSarah Westberry

Covid-19 Coronarita



During this crazy world we are living right now and how the Cornavirus is affecting our everyday lives, it’s enjoyable to add some excitement with a tasty cocktail. While being stuck in quarantine for the past three weeks I have noticed that my husband and I like to enjoy a couple of night beverages, but you only can drink so many white claws and beer. We have been missing our restaurant cocktails. All throughout college I was a bartender and loved every minute of it. I got to be creative and come up with tasty drinks for my regulars. I thought it would be entertaining to experiment with some different cocktail ingredients and try to come up with some of my own signature drinks. I love Corona! During a hot day I love popping one open with a lime and a pinch of salt. I am also infatuated with margaritas and if you know me you know I love Mexican food! So, I decided to put my own little spin on a margarita. One thing I don’t like about most house margaritas is the mix they use. It’s so much sugar and so bad for you. You literally are drinking around 500 calories in one regular 16oz margarita. That is absurd. I wanted to make one that was refreshing but also healthy at 280 calories. Get ready to drink up and enjoy!


Ingredients

  • 1800 silver Tequila (you can use any tequila, but this is one of my favorites and I am a huge tequila girl)

  • A Corona (I used Corona premier for a lower calorie count)

  • Simple syrup

  • Agave syrup

  • fresh jalapeno

  • Red pepper flakes

  • 2 limes

  • 1 lemon

  • Coconut water

  • Margarita salt

Step by Step

1. First, you will want to take a cocktail shaker and fill it up with ice.

2. Add one shot of Tequila and a ½ of a cup of your corona premier.

3. On top of your liquor add ¼ of a cup of coconut water along with the juice of 2 limes and lemon. You want to get as much juice out as possible (Trick: easiest way to do this is with a juicer). These liquids are your margarita mix.

4. Then, you want to put 1 tsp of agave syrup and 1 tsp of simple syrup. This is your sweetener.

5. OPTIONAL: I like a spicy margarita, so I added a couple slices of fresh jalapeño in my shaker.

6. Put the lid on the cocktail shaker and shake for about 30 seconds. (Trick: Make sure you don’t shake to hard as you have corona in the shaker, and it will foam over).

7. Rim your margarita glass with lime juice and margarita salt (Trick: for alittle bit more of extra spice add some red pepper flakes into your margarita salt).

8. Place fresh ice cubes into the glass with your margarita salt and pour your mix from your cocktail shaker over the ice.

9. Drink up, and enjoy!

93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page